Skip to content
Log In

Congratulations to NYSF Chair Professor Tanya Monro who was part of a national team awarded the 2015 University of New South Wales Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research in September.

Australian Museum Eureka Prizes are presented annually and reward excellence in the fields of research and innovation, leadership, science communication and journalism and school science.

Professor Monro, Professor Dayong Jin from the University of Technology Sydney and Macquarie University and Professor Bradley Walsh from Minomic International and Macquarie University, were awarded for their Super Dots research into the ‘world’s smallest, brightest nano-flashlights finding a diseased needle in a haystack’. The work was completed within the Australian Research Council Centre for Nanoscale Biophotonics based at the University of Adelaide.

Commenting on the win, Professor Monro said she was particularly thrilled to be part of the team that won the prize for Interdisciplinary Science, as this is a real area of focus for research at UniSA.

“At UniSA we take particular pride in working on problems inspired by the end-users of our research, and this typically results in research that straddles discipline boundaries,” Professor Monro said. (Source: UNISA News, 2015 September)

For more information about winning entries, visit: