Skip to content
Log In

The 2015 Tuckwell Scholarships have been announced, and six students from the National Youth Science Forum (NYSF) program have been selected, from a total of 24 students.

This is the second year that the scholarships have been awarded. They provide $22,000 per year towards the students’ studies at the Australian National University, as well as ongoing academic and career mentoring.

“Scholarships from this kind of philanthropy make a world of difference to these young people who are starting out in their academic and research careers,” says Damien Pearce, Director of the NYSF.

“Each of these students is to be congratulated for their hard work to date, and the recognition that this scholarship provides. Their Rotary clubs should also be acknowledged for supporting their activities, including endorsing them to attend the NYSF in January this year.”

Congratulations to:

  • Lachlan Arthur - SA - Trinity College Senior – Rotary District 9500 – Club – Gawler (attended in 2013)
  • Rachel Cook - NSW - Heathcote High School – Rotary 9675 - Club – Engadine
  • Brody Hannan – NSW – Cowra High School – Rotary District 9700 – Club - Cowra
  • Yaya Lu - Tas - The Friends’ School – Rotary District 9830 – Club - City Central Hobart
  • Michael Turvey - Tas - Rosny College – Rotary District 9830 – Club – Howrah
  • Betrice Walker - NSW - Merewether High School – Rotary District 9670 – Club - Wallsend-Maryland

The Tuckwell Scholarship Program was established by ANU alumnus Graham Tuckwell and his wife Louise in February 2013 and the first scholarship recipients started their studies in 2014. Two NYSF students from the 2013 cohort, Guy Leckenby and Jakub Nabaglo, were in the first round of scholarships awarded last year.

Further information: