Skip to content
Log In

Operating for over ten years, in 2016, the NYSF’s National Science Teachers’ Summer School (NSTSS) will continue to deliver a high quality science learning and teaching experience for all participants.

NSTSS 2016 offers teachers from all over Australia with an opportunity to visit The Australian National University and

  • Engage with leading researchers about the latest developments in science, in a collaborative and respectful professional environment;
  • Learn about the latest teaching resources developed by some of Australia’s iconic science and technology agencies;
  • Network with like-minded peers and challenge each other in discussions about what works in teaching Australian students today, and why? and
  • Join 200 of Australia’s leading science students at the NYSF 2016 Session A Science Dinner, featuring guest speaker, Dr Nick Gales.

Dr Gales is Director of the Australian Antarctic Division, and will address our dinner guests – including participants in the NSTSS 2016 – about his fascinating career, starting off as a country vet, leading him to be head of one of Australia’s iconic science agencies.

NYSF National Science Teachers’ Summer School 2016 continues the tradition - content image

Dr Nick Gales, Director, Australian Antarctic Division

Other highlights include:

  • Discussion led by Professor Shari Forbes, University of Technology Sydney about Interdisciplinary Science in Practice in the context of forensic decomposition chemistry and the first ‘body farm’ in the southern hemisphere;
  • Live video conference with Dr Rolf Landua CERN, to learn the latest developments at the Large Hadron Collider and all things particle physics;
  • Visit to Tidbinbilla Deep Space Centre – they might let you drive a telescope!
  • Keynote and subsequent discussion from Associate Professor Graham Hardy, University of South Australia, on interdisciplinary teaching and learning in STEM;
  • Tour of science teaching facilities at Melrose High School, led by Geoff McNamara, Winner of the 2014 Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools;
  • Briefing discussion: Science Policy and Science Curricula - Dr David Atkins, Branch Manager Curriculum and Students with Disability, ACT Department of Education and Training;
  • Panel discussion with representatives from Scientists and Mathematicians in Schools; the Australian College of Educators, and the Australian Academy of Science.

Dates: Arrive Sunday 10 January and depart Saturday 16 January 2016.
To apply, further information is here.