Skip to content
Log In

Two members of the 2013 NYSF cohort have been selected as inaugural Tuckwell Foundation scholars.

Guy Leckenby, from Coffs Harbour, and Jakub Nabaglo, from Goulburn, were chosen from a shortlist of 72 students who spent a weekend at the Australian National University (ANU) undertaking a series of individual and group interviews. The original call for scholars received 657 applications of which 217 were invited to the next stage of online assessments.

The scholars will receive $20,000 a year for the length of a single or double undergraduate degree as well as ongoing academic and career mentoring. They will live in student accommodation and be encouraged to pursue community service and extracurricular activities.

“Guy and Jakob were outstanding participants in last year’s NYSF January Sessions,” says Damien Pearce, NYSF Director. “Both were selected to take part in our International Program. Jakob attended the South Africa National Youth Science Week in July.”

Guy has been selected as NYSF’s delegate to attend the Stockholm International Youth Science Seminar in December. A highlight of this program is attending the Nobel Prize Ball.  Guy is planning a research project which will be presented at the Seminar. Its initial focus is "The place of astrophysics in a climate of global quandary".

The Tuckwell Scholarship Program was established by ANU alumnus Graham Tuckwell and his wife Louise in February 2013. Their $50 million gift to the University was the largest ever donation to an Australian university by an Australian citizen.